Children & youth


 EN FR / ES    (requires Box access: http://oxf.am/boxsupport)



Interrogations

It's important to be mindful of the terms we use when considering violence against both girls and boys

  • GBV vs. VAWG – GBV can be more inclusive of different forms & groups
  • GBV has multiple definitions and there's the risk/threat of being de-politicised and not addressing VAWG

Some points were raised about work with boys (in the overall context of Men & Masculinities work)

  • What is the role of biology? Are boys born a certain way? (Physical energy, etc) But they are also informed by social groups and boys receive messages
  • Challenge of finding true or “meaningful engagement” with men and boys – must socialize these groups
  • Whether boys or girls, their learning in family and faith environments needs to be considered and addressed. For instance, girls may seek out FGM because of societal and faith-driven norms, attitudes, and pressures them (e.g., they must marry and therefore must have FGM)

How do we build women’s/girls’ agency to say NO to violence?

  Ideas for reaching youth

  • mass media, social media (includes edutainment, pop culture)
  • F2F/direct media - eg theatre

Presenters

Natsnet Ghebrebrhannatsnet@raisingvoices.org
Skills Building Session “SASA Community Mobilization”

NatsnetGhebrebrhan_RaisingVoices-P2P


Aissa Toure. aissa.toure@oneworld.org
Skills Building Session.  “E-learing, ICT, teens”

DrAissaToure_OneWorld-P2P


Joselyn Bigirwa. jbigirwa@oxfam.org.uk
Marketplace.  “Multi-stakeholder”

Joselyn Bigirwa_Multistakeholder program Uganda_P2P


Saleema Munir. smmunir@oxfam.org.uk
 SVRI presentation.  “Women’s political participation”

Saleema Munir - Women's Political Leadership Pakistan - SVRI presentation


Monica Baumbau@oxfamintermon.org
Marketplace/SVRI.  “Indigenous women, traditional leaders”

Monica Bau - Indigenous Women Guatemala - SVRI forum


Doreen Fernandodoreenf@oxfam.org.au
SVRI.  “STAV project Solomon, community mobilization”

Doreen Fernando - STAV Solomon Islands - SVRI presentation


Conor MolloyConor.Molloy@oxfamnovib.nl
Marketplace/SVRI.  “Edutainment”

Conor Malloy- Bangladesh Edutainment- SVRI forum


Laura Haylocklaura.haylock@oxfam.ca
SVRI.  “Conceptual framework”

Laura Haylock - Oxfam's Conceptual Framework on Changing Social Norms - SVRI and P2P


Julie Thekkudan. julie@oxfamindia.org
Think Thank.  “Translating online change to change on the ground”.
Melida Guevaramguevara@oxfamamerica.org
 Think Tank.  “Involving youth in monitoring changes”.  

Comments