MEL of ANB change


 EN FR / ES   (requires Box access: http://oxf.am/boxsupport)

  Ideas wall

  • ANB are complex elements influenced by context and various other factors: changes in ANB therefore take time and we need to understand the process of change in order to measure it appropriately.
  • Documenting changes in ANB is a challenge and it can be difficult to collect the right information.
  • What ‘works’ is not so important; but instead ‘why and in which context things have not worked’.  We  can learn from our mistakes and failures. 
  • Long-term change is difficult to measure, especially due to difficulties to document and monitor after the end of a project.
  • Ideally, long-term change should be overtaken by partners, provided they have the capacities (including funding) to keep carrying the activities and monitoring after the end of a project.

Strategies to capture change

  • Conduct more research.
  • Regular monitoring visits.
  • We need to improve MEL for advocacy and campaigning to measure what change has happened and what is our actual contribution to it.
  • Importance for Oxfam to have a mix of mainstreamed and stand-along programming to end VAWG/GBV – and MEL adapted to these two types of programming



Interrogations

  • What is the kind of evidence to measure changes in attitudes, norms, behaviors and individual beliefs? How to collect it?
  • What role for practice-based evidence in violence against women work?
  • Where does change in ANB happen?

Resources

changing norms and attitudes on violence WHO.pdf

Gender_Scales_Compendium_full 2011

OxfamNovib_DeskstudyGBV

OxfamNovib_GBVrapportVicci

Social Norms and Measurement UNICEF


Presenters

Elizabeth Rowley. erowley@path.org 
Panel. “MEL of ANB”.  

ElizabethRowley-PlenaryPresentation-P2P


Helen LindleyHlindley@oxfam.org.uk 
Panel. “MEL of ANB”.
Think tank. “Mel of norm change in humanitarian setting”.

HelenLindley-PlenaryPresentation-P2P

Helen Lindley-MarketPlacePresentation-P2P


Lisa Vettenlisavetten@gmail.com
Panel. “Future, next steps”:

LisaVetten_what works_P2P


Laura Haylocklaura.haylock@oxfam.ca
SVRI. “Conceptual framework”.

Laura Haylock - Oxfam's Conceptual Framework on Changing Social Norms - SVRI and P2P


Rashida Shariffrshariff@oxfam.org.uk 
Think Tank. “VAWG Research/MEL ethics”.  

Rashida Sharriff_Research and MEL Ethics_P2P


Kathleen Dey. kath@rapecrisis.org.za
Panel. “MEL of ANB”.  

Melida Guevara. mguevara@oxfamamerica.org 
Think Tank. “Involving youth in monitoring changes”.  

Diana Majury. DianaMajury@Cunet.Carleton.Ca 
Think tank. “How to ensure MEL does not reinforce negative norms”.  

Christine Hughes. Christine.hughes@oxfam.ca 
Think tank. “WIN campaign and MEL of norm change”.

Yolanda Sithoe yolanda.sithoe@oxfamnovib.nl and Aniruddha Brahmachari Aniruddha@oxfamindia.org.  
Think Tank. “Best methodologies to measure norm change over time”.
Comments