Religion, tradition & culture


 EN FR / ES


  Ideas wall

  • Community leaders and duty bearers are representations of social norms and can reinforce either positive or negative social norms.
  • We expect change to come from political leadership and yet political leadership usually relies on/is enabled by change in society (“people’s permission”).
  • Working with religious leaders should allow for immediate and sustainable change at individual and community level.
  • Some traditions have been invented recently to justify gender-based violence.
  • We must distinguish religion itself and the interpretation made of it.
  • The rise in religious extremism is linked to an increase in violence against women and impacts women and their rights in general.

Strategies used by Oxfam in Pakistan:

  • Identify progressive local religious and political leaders.
  • Create spaces for them to dialogue.
  • Cultural barriers are always present.
  • Expense of legal recourse = Alternate dispute resolution and interaction with court system
  • Influence of the apostolic  churches
  • Women participate in NGOs and in the church: potentially parallel processes of empowerment and disempowerment


Interrogations

  • How to engage and influence religious leaders, especially with the difficulty to align the necessity of elimination gender-based violence and religious and social norms?
  • How to address attitudes and norms dictated by religion and culture?

Resources

Presenters

Natsnet Ghebrebrhannatsnet@raisingvoices.org
Skills Building Session “SASA Community Mobilization”

NatsnetGhebrebrhan_RaisingVoices-P2P

  
Joselyn Bigirwa. jbigirwa@oxfam.org.uk
Marketplace.  “Multi-stakeholder”

Joselyn Bigirwa_Multistakeholder program Uganda_P2P


Saleema Munir. smmunir@oxfam.org.uk
Think tank. "Translating online change to change on the ground."
SVRI presentation.  “Women’s political participation”

Saleema Munir - Women's Political Leadership Pakistan - SVRI presentation


Monica Baumbau@oxfamintermon.org
Marketplace/SVRI.  “Indigenous women, traditional leaders”

Monica Bau - Indigenous Women Guatemala - SVRI forum


Doreen Fernandodoreenf@oxfam.org.au
SVRI.  “STAV project Solomon, community mobilization”

Doreen Fernando - STAV Solomon Islands - SVRI presentation


Conor MolloyConor.Molloy@oxfamnovib.nl
Marketplace/SVRI.  “Edutainment”

Conor Malloy- Bangladesh Edutainment- SVRI forum


Laura Haylocklaura.haylock@oxfam.ca
SVRI.  “Conceptual framework”

Laura Haylock - Oxfam's Conceptual Framework on Changing Social Norms - SVRI and P2P


Sian Maseko.  sian.maseko@oxfam.ca  
Marketplace.  “Religious leaders”.
Julie Thekkudanjulie@oxfamindia.org
Think Thank.  “Translating online change to change on the ground”.
Melida Guevaramguevara@oxfamamerica.org
Think Tank.  “Involving youth in monitoring changes”.  
Brigitte Topinanty.  btdionadji@oxfam.org.uk
Think Tank.  “Theatre for advocacy with traditional leaders and government”.

Comments